This forum has been archived. You will not be able to log in, register, or post.

Main >> Import Forum Thread views: 10337

Pages in this thread: (1) 2  
Mile_Mark
Soon to be new driver   Posted Tue Jul 30, 02   10:27 PM     

Hey, im 15 years old and im itchy to drive. (but i am not one of those people who think they are the shit cause they found out what nos was in the fast and the furious) I've been into cars for about a year now and i've been shopping around for what seems to be the best deal. I was looking at Integras. And i would prolly end up getting a 97 gs-r. I asked my friend about mileage and he said that for an import 50 or 60k miles for a 97 would be okay to buy. But because i am new at this i was wondering if you guys could tell me if im making the right descision or anything of that sort.

RatTrap383
Re: Soon to be new driver   Posted Wed Jul 31, 02   1:10 AM     

Mark,

I'd be the first to admit that when it comes to shopping for imports, there are any number of people on this site that are better qualified to offer advice. Hopefully one of them will.
What I can tell you applies to all cars,regardless of make, model or country of origin. Buying your first car is the kind of experience that shouldn't be diluted with questions like "What's the best gas mileage I can find." I've never had the heart to actually figure it out, but I'd be shocked if I'm into double digits with my car's mileage. The important thing is, even if I'm only getting nine miles to the gallon, those nine miles for me are a hell of a lot more fun than the guy in the Ford Windstar who's pulling down 28.
When you get to the point of actually laying down money for your ride, don't cheat your ambition to save your walllet. It's almost a rite of passage that your first car pretty much breaks you financially. What you don't spend on gas you'll spend on polishes, detailing supplies, engine mods, tabs, insurance... ahem.. speeding tickets...:)