This forum has been archived. You will not be able to log in, register, or post.

Main >> Import Forum Thread views: 11466

Pages in this thread: (1) 2  
IDUNNOJACK
Starting Fresh   Posted Sat Jul 24, 04   9:49 PM     

I'm brand new at this, but, no car, no engine, no nothing. I have little experience with fixing or working on cars. Need to keep things on the cheaper side but not bottom of the bucket. I've read that Civics are best for the beginner, so what year? what Model? what engine? trans? nos or turbo? In no hurry this is to be a project not an event. Any and all help appreciated

D15powerd
Re: Starting Fresh   Posted Sat Jul 24, 04   10:15 PM     

Best car to begin with in my opinion is a Civic. They have lots of aftermarket support and are really cheap to work on and they weigh practically nothing. Best is to get a 88-95 Civic EX or Si. They come with the best trannies from the factory too, good ratios. They're just really simple to work on in general, but not that fast in stock form.

"11-second honda fanboy" and damn proud of it, cuz somethings are just better when ran inline and faster than 13.09.....
IDUNNOJACK
Re: Starting Fresh   Posted Sat Jul 24, 04   10:56 PM     

What kind of engine set up or should the stock motor be upgraded. I'm just in the "formulate a plan" phase so any and all info and suggestions is helpful.

SweetNeon

Re: Starting Fresh   Posted Sun Jul 25, 04   11:53 AM     

what is your monthly income?

IDUNNOJACK
Re: Starting Fresh   Posted Sun Jul 25, 04   6:09 PM     

No offense, But mymonthly income doesn't matter. This is going to be a 3-5 year project so income isnt really a issue. I mean I'm not going to be able to dump 15k in it, but 10 is not unreasonable. I'm not looking to be the fastest, just something respectable. And maybe something for those Mopars to think about.

SweetNeon

Re: Starting Fresh   Posted Sun Jul 25, 04   6:13 PM     

if your not the fastest your not respectable

IDUNNOJACK