This forum has been archived. You will not be able to log in, register, or post.

Main >> General Forum Thread views: 4598

DBLDREW
Decisions, decisions, decisions   Posted Wed Nov 16, 05   10:14 AM     

Well my new garage is finally done and winter is just around the corner so I’m getting the itch to start working on my car again. Just for a refresher I have a 1989 Mustang that I pulled the 302 out and dropped in a 351W that is reasonably built (runs high 11 sec ¼ mile)

So my current plain is to go forced induction and I’m leaning towards doing a DIY twin turbo set up. I shouldn’t have too much problem fabricating what ever I need, I’m a pretty decent welder, although I have never welded aluminum but my mig welder supposedly can be set up to weld aluminum by switching the wire and going 100% argon gas. But I could just make everything out of steel tubing if I have a hard time with welding aluminum (it probably won’t make that much of a weight difference anyway).

So here is my dilemma. Currently my motor is running ~11:1 compression so I will defiantly need to drop that down to go with the turbos. So new forged pistons are a must. But my dilemma is that with turbos I could easily see over 700HP with out a problem. I’m currently running the stock cast crank and rods so running that much HP would definitely be pushing the stock rotating assembly. So running forged crank and rods would have no problem handling the power. So if I’m going to spend the $$ on all forged parts I might as well get some more cubic inches out of it (there is no replacement for displacement). I could pick up an all forged stroker kit for around ~$1500.00, I was thinking on running the 383 stroker if I decide to go that route.

Now the problem is that if I do decide to go with a whole new rotating assembly the time before the car is back on the road will be much longer (due to a limited budget) So my options are as follows…