This forum has been archived. You will not be able to log in, register, or post.

Main >> Domestic Forum Thread views: 5272

southern_muscle
New Racer   Posted Sat Nov 27, 04   5:24 PM     

I'm new to raceing and I'm buying a 1973 Dodge Charger with a 318 and an automatic. I want to know what I can do to get it to run 11's and 12's, I'm trying to show up those rice burning honda civics that think they can beat American Muscle.

quik67firebird
Re: New Racer   Posted Thu Dec 2, 04   7:48 AM     

Well the 73 Charger is a nice car, but heavy. If you don't want to swap in a 383 or 440, then you have to get pretty radical on that 318. First off is a good 4 barrel carb and intake. Next is a set of headers and free flowing dual exhaust. After that I would go with a set of 3.91 gears and a posi to get that thing moving off the line. You can always get a 100, or 150 shot of Nitrous but you’ll want to be careful because the 904 trans is a weak point in the drive train. Actually, you'll probably want to get rid of the 904 trans that came stock and replace it with a 727. (The 904 blows up real good under high horsepower.) After that you need to go inside the motor to make the car faster. Cam, new or ported heads, higher compression pistons and so on. But you get the idea. Easy stuff first, then start tearing it apart to make it go even faster.

evopanop
Re: New Racer   Posted Thu Dec 2, 04   4:50 PM